Wednesday, August 21, 2019

Jennifer Fox returns to Produce 2019 Governor Awards

As we role towards the 2019 Oscar season the award show Production has started to take place as Jennifer Fox has been announced as the returning Producer for the 2019 Governor Awards. Read The Academy's Official Press Release below.

LOS ANGELES, CA – Oscar®-nominated producer Jennifer Fox will return to produce the 11th Annual Governors Awards for the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences, Academy President David Rubin announced today. 

Honorary Awards will be presented to director David Lynch, actor Wes Studi and director Lina Wertmüller, and the Jean Hersholt Humanitarian Award to actress Geena Davis on Sunday, October 27, at the Ray Dolby Ballroom at Hollywood & Highland Center®

“This year’s Governors Awards recipients are emblematic of thediversity, global scope, and bold artistry the Academy seeks to represent and celebrate. We are so fortunate to have Jennifer Fox returning to create a tribute to four artists who’ve made such a lasting cultural impact," said Rubin.

“It is an honor to be asked to come back and produce the Governors Awards," said Fox. “David Lynch, Lina Wertmüller, Wes Studi, and Geena Davis are groundbreakers and I’m looking forward to celebrating their extraordinary accomplishments.”

Fox has produced or executive produced some of the most iconic films of the last 15 years, including Tony Gilroy’s directorial debut, “Michael Clayton,” which earned seven Oscar nominations. She began her film industry career in development and production at Universal Pictures, where she worked on several films, including “Erin Brockovich.” Fox spent the next six years producing with Steven Soderbergh and George Clooney’s production company, Section Eight, where she worked on such acclaimed titles as “Syriana,” “Good Night, and Good Luck,” “The Informant” and “AScanner Darkly.” Her other film credits include “Duplicity,” “The Bourne Legacy,” “We Need to Talk About Kevin,” for which she received a BAFTA nomination, “Nightcrawler” and “Roman J. Israel, Esq.” Fox’s latest film with frequent collaborator Dan Gilroy, “Velvet Buzzsaw,” opened earlier this year and her upcoming film, “The Report,” opens this fall. 

The Honorary Award, an Oscar statuette, is given “to honor extraordinary distinction in lifetime achievement, exceptional contributions to the state of motion picture arts and sciences, or for outstanding service to the Academy.”

The Jean Hersholt Humanitarian Award, also an Oscar statuette, is given “to an individual in the motion picture arts and sciences whose humanitarian efforts have brought credit to the industry.”

The 11th Annual Governors Awards is proudly supported by Rolex, the Exclusive Watch of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences.

No comments:

Post a Comment